Biscuit Gravy Cheeseburger

I’m gonna start this one by putting it all out front.

I love Waffle House.

El Casa De Waffle-o.

Their waffles are on the list of my favorite, mouthgasmic foods. I love the sketchy atmosphere, the sometimes creepy employees, the questionable sanitation, and the crazy songs about raisin toast they have on their jukeboxes.

It was a little after midnight when Drew, Alec, and I went to waffle house for some late night foodstuffs. I remembered reading a post on Grocery Eats about a biscuit and gravy cheeseburger. Essentially a cheeseburger with a biscuit for a bun, with some gravy on it.

I figured that would be worth trying, but unfortunately the waffle house we went too isn’t the best with having it your way and wouldn’t just make me a biscuit with a hamburger patty. So I just ended up getting their dollar cheeseburger with tomato and a side of biscuit gravy, cause I figured I like buns more than biscuits anyways.

So it was pretty much just a cheeseburger with onions, tomato, a smidgen of mayo, and biscuit gravy.

In a word: AWESOME.

I don’t know why they just don’t offer this as an actual menu item. It’s like a wonderful combination of lunch an breakfast, all in one sandwich. It tastes like what you’d expect biscuit gravy to taste like on a cheeseburger, but it’s one of those things, where you just can’t believe it isn’t more prevalent. The tomato though, really holds together the whole thing, it provides a nice mellow base to an unhealthy item.

Why don’t they just add this to the menu and call it the Country Breakfast Burger or something like that?

The world may never know…

    • Anon
    • April 15th, 2010

    Did it taste like a snausage biscuit with gravy?

      • jon
      • April 16th, 2010

      Well it did, but without the biscuity-ness and the snausage type flavor. More of a cheeseburgery and gravy-esque sort of deal. Worth trying for oneself I’d say.

Leave a Reply

